The Backpacker’s Pantry: Why Have One

Back in the day, when I was a young sprout, before I went out on any backpacking trip, I would head to the store. And then go back to the store. And then stop at the store on the way to the trail.  I got wiser, and while I still will stop at the store on the way out, most often it is to just grab another cup of coffee and maybe a loaf of something sweet if the drive is long.  It is a choice to stop there, rather than a need.

Morning Pancakes
Morning Pancakes

 

I learned to keep a pantry, mind you it is rather small, for my backpacking needs. This allows for those midnight  snap decisions to leave in the morning. I will be referencing my pantry often in my blog and in recipes, so I will be giving you an outline as to what is in it, how it is set up, and some ideas on how to set up or augment your own.  First, I will give you the “why” I even have a separate pantry just for backpacking.

Of course, there is the ease of having everything at your fingertips and not having to go look for certain items amongst the rest of your daily food offerings. I am also rather frugal and by storing items together, I can keep it mind what I need for the next trip and purchase it on sale. When I am headed out, my meals are not dependent on whether I have the money that paycheck to go buy food not in my monthly budget because it’s already added into the budget.

Pancake & Maple Syrup
Pancake & Maple Syrup

There are items I like to have on hand that take time to arrive, like my freeze dried chicken and certain condiments.  There has been many a time when I decided the night before to go on an overnight and I needed to work with what was in the pantry. I can throw together good meals and concentrate more on gear and trail selection and less on hunting down something to eat.

Lastly, I go out a lot. Not always, but at times, I will head out every weekend until I get tired of coming home to a chore list piling up. I will go out for about 7 weekends and a trip of six days before I stay home on a weekend. That’s a ton of meals, a bunch of planning, and not a lot time to do meal prep in. The pantry is my system. It saves me money, time, and sanity.  The first two I am always looking to save more of. The last is just nicer to have.

Klahanie Ridge Signpost

 

2 thoughts on “The Backpacker’s Pantry: Why Have One

  1. I do keep some basics at the house, but most of my trips are planned out weeks in advance. If it is just an overnight, I can make do with most anything. I could live of my own waistline for a week. After the basics, I shop at the store for those items i need. Any expense is considered groceries for the month.

    Like

    1. Planning is definitely important! It is all considered groceries, even the smallish stockpile of chocolate. We have been known to break out the powdered whole eggs in the middle of baking and after finding out there is not a single egg in the house.

      Like

Leave a Reply

